[LIST]: $750m World Bank Grant: Kaduna gets highest, 12 states miss out

Kaduna governor; kaduna state receive world bank grant

A press statement today by the Ministry of Finance, Budget, and National Planning says the federal government disburses N43.42 billion to 24 states. According to the statement, the disbursement is from a $750 World Bank grant for Nigerian states. And, it aims to strengthen states’ fiscal management. The Bank’s States Fiscal Transparency, Accountability and Sustainability (SFTAS) Programme is a channel for achieving this objective.

Furthermore, SFTAS Programme was established by the Federal Government with a concessional loan of USD750 million to support States. Accordingly, States are to receive $700 million in grant and $50 million as technical assistance.

Kaduna State achieved the highest number of results (nine) and got the highest share with N3.96b while Katsina and Benue got the lowest amount of N540m each.

Out of the 36 states in Nigeria that apply for the grant, 24 make it, and others fail to get it.

Here are 24 states that make the World Bank Grant

  1. Abia

  2. Adamawa

  3. Bauchi

  4. Benue

  5. Delta

  6. Edo

  7. Ekiti

  8. Enugu

  9. Gombe

  10. Jigawa

  11. Kaduna

  12. Kano

  13. Katsina

  14. Kebbi

  15. Kogi

  16. Kwara

  17. Niger

  18. Ondo

  19. Ogun

  20. Oyo

  21. Osun

  22. Sokoto

  23. Taraba

  24. Yobe

On the other hand, 12 States missed out on the 2018 grants because they did not meet the Eligibility Criteria.

Here are 12 states that miss out of the World Bank Grant

  1. Akwa Ibom

  2. Anambra

  3. Bayelsa

  4. Borno

  5. Cross River

  6. Ebonyi

  7. Imo

  8. Lagos

  9. Nasarawa

  10. Plateau

  11. Rivers

  12. Zamfara

However, the $750 World Bank Grant accommodates different starting points. Thus, the 12 States can still participate in the 2019,2 020 and 2021. But still, meeting the EC and DLIs in the said years is mandatory.

Related posts

Leave a Comment